10 Days of Prayer from Ascension to Pentecost

For the ten days from Ascension to Pentecost, Bishop David is calling the churches of Down and Dromore to a renewed focus on prayer for a spiritual harvest. 

He invites us to personal prayer and to join with others around the diocese in using the resources that we will make available each day. 

The 10 Days of Prayer initiative was introduced on St Patrick’s Day but of course the original programme has had to be adapted to the new reality of lockdown and social distancing.

Each of the days following Ascension will have a different prayer focus and we will share a prayer and video message each day. Here’s an outline of the online programme, which will be accompanied by printable resources. 

  • Thursday 21 May: Ascension Day Services in the parishes
  • Friday 22 May: Prayer focus on young adults with Bishop David and Tim Burns
  • Saturday 23 May: Prayer focus on women with Mrs Hilary McClay 
  • Sunday 24 May: Parish worship with special prayers from church leaders 
  • Monday 25 May: Prayer focus on worship with Worship Rooms online and Bishop David
  • Tuesday 26 May: Prayer focus on Select Vestries with Bishop David 
  • Wednesday 27 May: Prayer focus on youth and children, praying The Litany and a message from Bishop David 
  • Thursday 28 May: Prayer focus on a praying diocese with parish prayer meetings online and a message from Bishop David 
  • Friday 29 May: Prayer focus on civic leaders with Bishop David
  • Saturday 30 May: Prayer focus on men with Bishop David
  • Sunday 31 May: Bishop David will address the diocese on Pentecost Sunday when we pray ‘Come Holy Spirit’.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: